Rasputin meets Finnish metal

Turisas is a Finnish metal band founded in 1997 by Mathias Nygård and Jussi Wickström, and named after an ancient Finnish God of war. They are a folk metal band, incorporating elements of power metal and symphonic metal along with frequent harsh vocals.

On their second album "The Varangian Way - Director's Cut " there is a major surprise that had me do a double take. Amongst all the rather awesome power metal on a truly epic album with driving melodies they threw in a rather wonderful cover of Boney M's "Rasputin". Enjoy

Turisas are: Mathias Nygård – Vocals Jussi Wickström – Guitar Olli Vänskä – Violin Robert Engstrand – Keyboards Jaakko Jakku – Drums Jesper Anastasiadis – Bass

Powered by Blogger.